Notable Alumni

Mr Peter Beattie AC

Mr Peter Beattie, AC is a Law graduate of The University of Queensland and was President of the St John’s College Student Club in 1974. He served as the thirty-sixth Premier of Queensland for nine years and leader of the Australian Labor Party in Queensland for almost twelve years.

His sweeping victories in the 2001, 2004 and 2006 state elections confirmed him as one of the most electorally successful politicians in Australia.

Mr J. D. Fryer

Mr J. D. Fryer entered St John’s College in 1915 with a scholarship from Rockhampton Grammar School. He enrolled in the AIF at the end of his first term and was wounded in action in 1918. He returned to The University of Queensland and St John’s College in 1920 and was actively in student journalism in the college and beyond.

Mr Fryer died of tuberculosis in 1922. In 1927 The University of Queensland Dramatic Society initiated the Fryer Memorial Library of Australian Literature, which has become one of the University’s most significant cultural collections.

Judge E. D. Stanley

Judge E. D. Stanley was admitted as a student of St John’s College in 1913, and was appointed to the Queensland bench after a distinguished career at the Queensland Bar.

In 1923, Mr Stanley became the first graduate of the University of Queensland to be elected to the University Senate. St John’s commemorates Edwin Stanley in the Stanley Law Library and in the Stanley Prize for Legal Studies.

Mr P. R. Stephensen

Mr P. R. Stephensen, intellectual and literary adventurer and political rebel entered St John’s College from Maryborough Grammar School and graduated with a BA in 1922. In 1924, he was awarded the Queensland Rhodes Scholarship.

Mr Stephensen was a member of the Communist Party while at The University of Queensland and at Oxford University. After leaving Oxford he was an author and fine press publisher in the UK and Australia.